About us

Llanfair Caereinion Town Council is an elected body of 12 councillors. There is an elected Chair and Vice Chair who usually serve a two year term.The Council is responsible for delivering some services not provided by Powys County Council. These currently include the running of Erw Ddwr Cemetery, Glanyrafon Play Area, Deri Woods and The Chapel of Rest. Grass cutting and some maintanance services for the town are also the repsonsibility of the Council. Much of the budget for providing services is raised through the Precept element of the Council Tax. Some grants are also given by Powys County Council.  The members of the Town Council also act as Charity Commission custodians of Mountfield and Deri Woods. The position of Town Councillor is unpaid. Councillors give their time and expertise for free but they can claim expenses. The Town Clerk and Responsible Finance Officer is a salaried part time position currently 70 hours a month.

Llanfair Caereinion Town Council have a full meeting usually on the fourth Monday of each month (except August). Meetings take place in The Youth Room in The Public Institute at 7.00pm. Agendas and minutes will be available on this website but can also be viewed in the Library and in the notice board outside the Public Insitute. The AGM takes place before the meeting in May at 7.00pm.